a date at the well…

Jesus answered and said to her, “Whoever drinks this water will thirst again, but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I ahsll give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.” The woman said to Him, “Sir, give me this water, that I may not thirst, nor come here to draw.”
–John 4:13-15

Tonight I had a date. It did not register until tonight, but Jesus set a date and time aside for me and Him to meet. He prepared everything. We sat at a beautiful table across from one another–just Him and I. At first I could not directly look into His eyes. I was timid, shy, afraid, and anxious all at the same time. I had never been on a date with Jesus like this before. I did not know what He had planned for the two of us. I did not know his agenda. He grabbed my hands from across the table and made the attempt to make eye contact with me. After looking everywhere but into his eyes, I gave up. When I looked at him His eyes were bold and piercing, soft and gentle. He wanted to see me. He genuinely wanted to meet with me!

He spoke to me. He asked me, “What can I do for you? I am here for you. I have been watching you for some time now. You have been walking and operating in your own strength…depending on your own whit and skills…all in the attempt to set yourself up for success and to be free; but in the process you have lost sight of who I really am. You have lost sight that I am the one who directs your path…not you. I am the one who gives you good success and sustains you in the wilderness. I am the one who puts clothes on your back and food in your stomach. I am your living water, but instead of allowing me to give you a living water that will not allow you to live in lack, you have taken it upon yourself, just as the Samaritan woman, to go to a well and draw water daily. Be real with me…isn’t drawing water everyday tiring. You carry this gigantic water pot with you daily–a burden on your shoulder if you will–to a well everyday to fill up for your daily activities. You need money to pay your bills…you go to your water pot (your 9-5 job and maybe even a second job…both of which you hate and settled for because you did not trust in me that I would give you the job you desired) and draw off of your water reserve. You need peace of mind…you go to your water pot (your bed and take a nap…hoping that when you wake up everything will be ok and your problems will go away) and draw off of your water reserve. You need someone to talk to…you go to your water pot (your head knowledge or even a book…hoping to learn how to cope with your problems instead of coming to me so that we can deal with them together and I can take them away) and draw off of your water reserve.

“I invited you here today so that I can remind you once again that I am your everything. I want you to give me everything. I want you to give me your work, your passion, your desires, your strife…I want it all. I want you to bring to me everything. I want you to lay everything on the table so what we can examine your life together…you and I. No one else will see what you bring to me. No one else will know your weaknesses and no one else will point the finger at you. You are safe with me…and if you allow me, I will take all that you have and replace it with something new. Allow me to give you a living water…no more of this temporary water…no more of this water that you fill up in your water pot and ration throughout the day so that you can keep your sanity and keep your composure while everything around crumbles. I want to give you a water that will sustain you all day, everyday, 24/7/365. I want to be your living water. I want to be that person that you draw from when things are bad and when times get tough. I want you to look to me as your sole provider…the One who knows what you need and when you need it. I want you to give me everything and everyone that you depend on to sustain you…for they are temporary…but I am always and forever. When all of your efforts fail and when you do not know what else to do, I want you to remember that only I can sustain you. I never want you to get to the point where you exhaust yourself and all of your options and then you feel that you have no where else to turn but to Me. I want to be the first person that you come to. I want to be the ONLY person that you come to to fix all of your problems. I am willing and able to do anything it takes so that you can live the full and abundant life. Please trust me and know that I WILL do it all. I will not force myself into your life, but I can promise you that if you give Me place in your life, things will get better. You will no longer wake up and dread the day. You will wake up refreshed…knowing that there is more to life than the daily grind. As you commune with me you will begin to walk in your purpose that I have for your life. You will no longer walk in the purpose that you think you had or in the purpose that you gave yourself, but you will walk with me and have fullness of life and joy. With all of that said…will you allow me to give you this living water? Will you allow me to give you everlasting life?”

Right then and there I gave Him all that I had. I gave Him all of my baggage…all of my pain…all of my personal struggles. Tonight was about me. Jesus cared enough to make this night solely about me and for me. He offered to be my hero…my avenger…my peace…my sustainer…my warrior…my friend. He offered to be everything in my life that I ever lacked.

I took Him up on His offer, knowing that He would never let me down. I left my water pot full of temporary waters and allowed Him to give me His living water. Somehow I trusted Him. Something in me trusted what He said, knowing that it was all said in truth, love, and honesty. He said what He meant…He meant what He said. I have had issues with trusting people in the past, but with Him it was different. My heart and spirit knew that He would not lie to me.

And so…I had a date at the well…and I gave Him all that I had…I gave Him myself (as jacked up as I am)…and you know what…He still loves me!

~ by visionaryvanguard on Friday, 2006 March 10.

Leave a Reply

 
