the joy of forgiveness…

nimhalti.jpg

I could have stayed where I was–down, upset, & disappointed in myself last night–but a friend of mine picked me up and told me to keep on movin.  I thank the Lord everyday for real friends…ones that won’t judge you, ones that don’t hold your mistakes over your head, ones that pray for you over the phone, ones that speak life into what seems like a dead situation.  I pray that everyone has friends like mine. 

No man is an island, but it sure seems like we wash up on its’ shores when things go bad.  It’s in those times that true friends come floating by on a rescue raft to bring you back to civilization–back to your senses, back to yourself.  Remember though, your friends bring you back, but only the Lord (if you allow Him) can fully restore.

 There is a scripture in the Bible that I would like to share.  It’s a scripture that I hold on tight to–one that I have bought for myself.  It is one that gets me through and picks me up when I fall.  It reminds me that my sins are covered and that I cannot hold on to them and condemn myself for falling.  It reminds me that sweet release comes when I talk to my God and let Him know whats going on in my life and I let Him know what I’m dealing with.  It reminds me that when temptation comes my way I can pray to my God and He will come near me, protect me and deliver me.  It comes from the book of Psalm 32:1-7. 

Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven,
Whose sin is covered.
Blessed is the man to whom the Lord does not impute iniquity,
And in whose spirit there is no deceit.

When I kept silent, my bones grew old
Through my groaning all the day long.
For day and night Your hand was heavy upon me;
My vitality was turned into the drought of summer.
I acknowledged my sin to You,
And my iniquity I have not hidden.
I said, “I will confess my transgression to the Lord,”
And You forgave the iniquity of my sin.

Selah

For this cause everyone who is godly shall pray to You
In a time when You may be found;
Surely in a flood of great waters
They shall not come hear him.
You are my hiding place;
You shall preserve me from trouble;
You shall surround me with songs of deliverance.

Selah

My God is mighty to save.  My God is mighty to forgive.  My God is mighty to restore.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Friday, 2007 June 22.

3 Responses to “the joy of forgiveness…”

  1. yup thank god for an Ampi

  2. just got that as a tattoo … as a symbol and reminder of being forgiven

  3. Amazing, I just happened upon this site by through googling “nimhalti”. I have this tattoo across my chest – got ut in 2008.

    God Bless

Leave a Reply

 
