take some time to give Him time…

12 Oct 07 Scripture:  Nehemiah 7:3, 8:3,5-6

I (Nehemiah) said to them, “The gates of Jerusalem are not to be opened until the sun is hot.”

He (Ezra) read it (the Book of the Law) aloud from daybreak till noon as he faced the square before the Water Gate in the presence of the men, women and others who could understand. And all the people listened attentively to the Book of the Law.

Ezra opened the book. All the people could see him because he was standing above them; and as he opened it, the people all stood up.  Ezra praised the LORD, the great God; and all the people lifted their hands and responded, “Amen! Amen!” Then they bowed down and worshiped the LORD with their faces to the ground.

Observation

After Nehemiah completed rebuilding of the city of Jerusalem which was sacked in battle and burned to the ground, he commissioned those who were the gatekeepers of the city to keep its doors shut until noon.  Both Nehemiah and Ezra made the decision on behalf of all those who lived within Jerusalem’s walls to set aside a particular time for worship, praise, devotion and to the reading of the Word of God-they set themselves apart for a time to come and listen to what the Lord their God was saying.  Remember, these people who were listening attentively and worshipping were the children of Israel-the decedents of those who made the mass exodus from Egypt into the Promised Land.  Their ancestors once worshipped the Lord according to their law but eventually fell away from its commandments to follow their own law-the law of the flesh (their own wants and desires).

Together, Nehemiah and Ezra reinstituted a tradition that was almost lost and pioneered a new way of life for these people who had long forgotten what it was like to have structure and stability.  After immediately hearing the Book of the Law of Moses these very people who were displaced from their city and homes came together on one accord and worshipped the God of their fathers.  They had a holy reverence for their God and most importantly, they came back to the heart of worship.

Application

Although I may not be able to dedicate my entire morning (from 4am-12pm) to reading the Word and spending uninterrupted quality time with my God, I must make an effort to set aside a time each and everyday to spend time with, talk to and hear from my God-particularly in the morning because I can sit in my office alone and in quite.  Just like the children of Israel in the passages above, I once used to set aside time to fellowship and really commune with God, but the issues (my issues) of life got in the way and gradually encroached upon and eventually pushed aside all time that I had to dedicate to my devotions, study and listening.  Starting today I am taking my time back and will come back to the heart of worship.  I want to come back to the place where it was just me and God and he spoke to me constantly and taught me constantly.  Something amazing happens when I really stop all that I am doing and listen to what the Word of the Lord is.

Prayer

worship-1.jpg

Lord, Your word today rocked my world.  Man…You know how to motivate a girl and challenge her to come back to her first love.  I realize now that have missed spending time with You.  Please forgive me for ignoring You and for not spending time with You.  But You know what?  I’m back and I want to be here with You for forever.  Help me to understand Your word more-to dive deep and truly dig out and understand what You are saying to me and to all Your children today.  You are the coolest person I know and thank you for sending the Holy Spirit to be with me always.  I call Him my best friend and I could not live life without Him.  I open myself up to You to hear what You have to say and show me.  Thank you for waiting patiently for me and for always having your arms wide open to welcome me and to take me back.  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Friday, 2007 October 12.

Leave a Reply

 
