ALWAYS give Him your best…

15 Oct 07 Scripture:  Malachi 1:13-14

When you bring injured, crippled or diseased animals and offer them as sacrifices, should I accept them from your hands?” says the LORD. “Cursed is the cheat who has an acceptable male in his flock and vows to give it, but then sacrifices a blemished animal to the Lord.”

lamb2.jpg

Observation

This particular scripture is Lord speaking through the prophet Malachi to Israel, the chosen people of God, about offerings.  Israel had been taught throughout several generations about sacrifices-those that are acceptable to the Lord and those that are unacceptable.  Somewhere along the way, though, Israel replaced diligence and reverence in regards to holy sacrifices with laziness and a lack of respect for the Lord, their God.  Israel found it no longer necessary to completely fulfill and continue the covenant that their fathers’ cut with their God and instead offered profane and unacceptable things thinking that they would please the Lord.  Israel no longer gave, offered and sacrificed that which cost them something-they no longer gave, offered and sacrificed the best.  Instead, then vainly offered detestable, rotten and decaying things saying that were the best from the fruits of their labor.  The Israelites were lying to themselves when they thought that they could appease and please the Lord with their half-hearted, inappropriate sacrifices and think that they were suitable for a King who demanded their best.  They were severely kidding themselves.

Application

How many times have I done like the children of Israel.  How many times have I said that I would give the Lord my best-the best of my money, the best of my time, the best of life-and yet I have gone back on my word and convinced myself that as long as I gave ‘something’ that He would consider it acceptable.  Don’t get me wrong, sometimes we have the best intentions but things can come up and what we do give to the Lord is all right with the Lord-but I’m talking about those times when we say that we will give the Lord our time in prayer and fasting but we don’t take the time to turn off the TV or turn our dinner plates over.  Excuses were what the Israelites brought before the Lord when they did not give the Lord their best…excuses are what I have brought to the Lord on several occasions also.  There comes a time in our lives when we have to be responsible for our actions and when we have to be responsible and held accountable for the promises that we have made to the Lord.  When did it become acceptable to say that we will do one thing and then do the complete opposite?  When did it become ok to blame our lack of follow-through on everything else but our own lazy and undisciplined selves?  It’s time for us to let our yes be yes and our no, no.  We have been called and summoned to come to a higher level-one where we will be held responsible for every word that proceeds from our mouths.  Having good intentions is no longer good enough.  Let us give the Lord our best and let us not settle for anything less.

Prayer

Lord, please forgive me for all those times that I did not follow through on the promises that I made to You.  Please forgive me for expecting You to follow-through on Your end of the covenant that we made together while I, myself, have consistently broken it.  Although I know that You will always keep Your covenant I know that I will be held accountable for the decisions that I make and the actions that I take.  I know that Your law of sowing and reaping is still in effect even today and I know that those things that I have sown and will sow in the future I will reap.  Today I give You all of me.  I want to give You my best at all times-not just when I find it convenient.  You are an amazing God and You have set Your path straight before me.  Help me to walk closer to You.  Amen.

sacrifice1.JPG

~ by visionaryvanguard on Monday, 2007 October 15.

Leave a Reply

 
