if it was all taken away…

17 Oct 07 Scripture:  Job 1:20-21

At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head.  Then he fell to the ground in worship and said:  “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart.  The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised.” 

Observation

Job was known as a man who was blameless and upright, who feared the Lord his God and turned away from evil.  He lead a blessed life with a wife, 7 sons and 3 daughters.  Job had all the possessions in the world–everything that a man in his day could ever want and even covet or steal to have.  Despite having everything that he could ever want, the devil was convinced that the only reason that He worshipped the Lord and feared Him was because everything in his life was good–life was cherry.  The devil went as far to say to God,

“…Why, no one ever had it so good!  You pamper him like a pet, make sure nothing bad ever happens to him or his family or his possessions, bless everything he does–he can’t lost!  But what do you think would happen if you reach down and took away everything that is his?  He’d curse you right to your face, that’s what (Job 1:9-11 MSG).” 

 When everything went downhill for Job, when the devil destroyed everything that he had (with the direct permission of the Lord) including his herds of camels, sheep, oxen, donkeys, killed his servants and even all of his children, Job did not curse God nor blame him for what had happened.  Don’t get it twisted though, Job mourned for his many losses, but there was one thing that he did what seemed out of the ordinary…through it all and after he was done mourning he worshipped.  When all was said and done, Job stood alone and did the only thing he knew how to do…worship

job.jpg

Application

You know, the first thing I thought to myself when I read this scripture was, “What type of man worships the Lord when everything that he has been blessed with has been taken away?  Who does that?!”  Job showed characteristics of the type person that I desire to be.  His heart was true and when the world was falling apart around him and he was pressed in on every side, what came out was his true nature.  Job was not so attached to anything in this world–his possessions and even his family–that if it was all taken away and he was left alone He would still trust in the Lord his God.  Let me clarify here, Job loved his children, his servants, and even all of his possessions, but when it all was taken away he did not curse the Lord nor lose his faith in the Lord–and that is extremely important. 

I don’t know if I could be like Job.  I know that I say that if I didn’t have anything that I would be content with just having the Lord…but to be honest, I have never been put to the test.  There is one thing I do know, though.  I know that if Job can survive the devastation that he did, I can too.

Prayer

Lord help me to have so much trust and faith in You that if my world started falling apart all around me that I would still know that You are God and that You have not forsaken me.  I do not put my trust in any of my possessions, but I ask that You continue to teach me about being humble and how to both live both a like where I can abase and abound in blessings.  It is important for me to continue seeking You and Your will and not Your blessings for in the moment that I look and focus upon the blessings that You have for me, that is the day that I have opened a door for the enemy to come in and severely tempt me to question You if it was all taken away.  Help me to remember that I came into this world with nothing and that I will leave this world with nothing.  Despite coming in and going out of this world with nothing, you have called me to be a good steward over the possessions and people that You have placed in my life.  You have given me so much and in the day that it all passes away, I have set it in my heart to still praise You…to still worship You.

Thank You for Your living word and for never changing.  You are the same yesterday, today and forever more and Your mercy and love for me endure forever.  You’re the bomb!  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Wednesday, 2007 October 17.

Leave a Reply

 
