encouragement for the encourager…

18 Oct 07 Scripture:  Job 4:1-7 (MSG)

Then Eliphaz from Teman spoke up: “Would you mind if I said something to you?  Under the circumstances it’s hard to keep quiet.  You yourself have done this plenty of times, spoken words that clarify, encouraged those who were about to quit.  Your words have put fresh hope in people about to collapse.  But now you’re the one in trouble–and you’re hurting!  You’ve been hit hard and you’re reeling from the blow.  But shouldn’t your devout life give you confidence now?  Shouldn’t your exemplary life give you hope?  Think!  Has a truly innocent person ever ended up on the scrap heap?  Do genuinely upright people ever lose out in the end?”

Observation

I think that everyone can agree with me when I say that good friends are hard to find.  Here Job was cursing the day that he was born–throwing a pity party for himself because his health had severely deteriorated.  Instead of hopping on the ‘self-loathing’ bandwagon with him, Job’s friend, Eliphaz, began to encourage him and remind him of all of the encouraging words and truth that he spoke to others when they were in situations just like he found himself in. 

Application

We all go through times when we feel helpless and like the world is caving in.  During these times of great duress and utter hopelessness we tend to lose sight of the truth of the matter–we tend to lose sight and all remembrance of what the Word of God says about our lives concerning our current situations.  Sometimes it is hard to see past our circumstances and we tend to forget that the very encouraging words that we have spoken and given to other people also apply to ourselves.  I thank the Lord, my God, for the friends that He has blessed me with. 

 perserverence.jpg

When I’m down and out, when I don’t know whether I’m coming or going, when I can’t muster enough strength to go on, when I can’t even encourage myself, my friends are there for me.  My friends speak life not only into me but into my situation.  My friends remind me and say ‘keep going’ and ‘this too shall pass’–even when I don’t want to hear it…even when I become ticked off that they just threw a christian cliche at me.  😉 

Prayer

Lord, it’s just so good…You are so good to me.  Thank you for sending encouragement my way when I can’t encourage myself.  Thank You for a good word in due season.  Thank You for my best friends, for those who know me inside and out…for those who stick with me through the thick and the thin.  Thank you for my best friends who don’t give up on me and who force me to get up when I just want to lay down and give up.  You are faithful to me always.  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Thursday, 2007 October 18.

Leave a Reply

 
