search the scriptures and eat some food…

22 Oct 07 Scripture:  Acts 17:11

Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true.

Observation

It’s not enough just to go to church and listen to the Word of God being read and preached aloud.  Despite the most dynamic preacher preaching his message, despite hearing the hundreds of “Amen’s” from the crowd, it is our responsibility as Christians and diligent students of the Word of God to search out and make sure that what is being preached is true to the Word and not brought out of context.  We read in the Bible where God says “my people perish from a lack of knowledge.”  When all is said and done you must ask yourself this question–if all the great preachers of the world ceased to exist (the TD Jakes, the Benny Hinns, the Paula Whites, the Juanita Bynums, the Brian Hustons, the Wayne Corderos, the Adam Bernals) would you be able to survive from feeding yourself the Word of God or would you eventually die of malnutrition?  Would you know your Word enough to encourage yourself?  Would you be able to syphon out the truth of God from a well told lie or would the lines blur?

Application

Tough questions demand tough answers.  We must do our part to be diligent with what the Lord has given us.  If we are really honest with ourselves and assess the situation for what it really is, I think that we could all stand to get into our Word a little more–I know I could.  I find that even taking the time to do the Life Journal daily helps me get a better understanding for His Word and a bonus is that He speaks to me everyday about something new.  It is time that we are able to feed ourselves in the presence of our God–it’s goodness and sweetness to my spirit and soul. 😉

  chocolate-fountains.jpg

Don’t get me wrong, there is a time where we go to church and get fed by our shepherd, but that happens only 2x-3x per week.  If we look at it in the natural, would someone only feed their flesh 2x-3x per week, or does the typical person eat 2x-3x per day, 7 days a week?  Why would we feed our spirit any less?  I encourage you today to forget about the hundreds of times that you have tried to read your Word and failed.  I encourage you today to forget about all the times that you didn’t know where to open your Bible to read, and when you managed to find somewhere to start, it didn’t make any sense to you.  I firmly believe that even if you take 15 minutes out of your day to do as the Bereans did (examine the scriptures every day) that the Lord WILL speak to you…He WILL teach you.

Prayer

Lord, thank You for Your Word.  Thank You for the several versions of the Bible that we can pick up so that we can understand what You are saying to us today.  I make a promise to You today to search out Your scriptures and to feed myself with Your living Word everyday.  Your Word says that You “have given me knowledge and skill in all literature and wisdom” (Dan 1:17) and because I know that Your Word does not lie, I can be confident in that what You say to me is true.  There have been so many times that I have asked You to speak to me–to tell me what to do and to give me direction–but I realize now, that my Bible, Your Word IS You speaking to me.  Please forgive me for seeking a word from You, but I couldn’t realize or didn’t recognize that You left me Your Word within my own Bible.  I love You soooooooo much that I can’t even put it into words.  You’re amazing!  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Tuesday, 2007 October 23.

Leave a Reply

 
