let’s play 20 questions…

06 Nov 2007 Scripture:  Galatians 3:2-5

I would like to learn just one thing from you: Did you receive the Spirit by observing the law, or by believing what you heard?  Are you so foolish? After beginning with the Spirit, are you now trying to attain your goal by human effort?  Have you suffered so much for nothing—if it really was for nothing?  Does God give you his Spirit and work miracles among you because you observe the law, or because you believe what you heard? 

Observation

20q.jpg

Talk about 20 questions…I wonder if Paul took a breath in-between asking all of these questions to the Galatians.  Paul wasn’t afraid to ask the hard questions–and at that they were back to back to back to back to back–5 in a row.  Although these questions may seem a little harsh, they get straight to the point and Paul doesn’t sugar coat the fact that these people had received the Holy Spirit but were now wavering because of the peer pressure from those who were not of ‘the Way.’  These other people still believed that if they strictly followed the Law that was passed down from generation to generation that they would be justified and that they would have all that they wanted (attaining and reaching their goals).

Application

This passage hit me pretty hard and I took it a God asking me these questions.  These scriptures made me take inventory of my life and also made me take a look at my walk with my Lord.  I’m not lying when I say that sometimes I tend to think that if I do certain things–read my bible, pray for a lot time, not listen to secular music at all, only hang out with my saved friends–that the Lord will bless me with those things that I have been praying for.  How foolish of me.  Don’t get it twisted though…sometimes cutting off the music that is not “Christian” is a good thing when I’m getting into my study time and into my quiet time with my God–but not listening to secular music isn’t going to make me any more saved of make the Lord love me any more.  The Lord blesses me and works through me via the Holy Spirit because I have faith and believe in Him…that’s it!  There is nothing that I can do and nothing that I can say that will get me any closer to reaching my goals other than the Lord working personally in my life. 

I encourage you to read the above passage again and then using the picture above and the corresponding buttons on the actual 20 questions game see how you would answer these questions.  This could be a very eye opening experience…let the Lord reveal some things to you 😉

Prayer

Lord, You are my God and I trust completely in You.  Thank You for sending Your Son to cover all of my faults and shortcomings and sins.  Thank You for Your Holy Spirit and for the signs and wonders that go before me and follow me–all for Your glory and to lead others to You.  I know that I could never do anything to ever earn your love, so thank You for loving me all the time and for loving me right where I am.  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Tuesday, 2007 November 6.

Leave a Reply

 
