follow your dreams…

19 Nov 2007 Scripture:  Matthew 1:20-21 & 24, 2:13-15, 19-21

But after he had considered this, an angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, “Joseph son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary home as your wife, because what is conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit.  She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins”…When Joseph woke up, he did what the angel of the Lord had commanded him and took Mary home as his wife.

An angel of the Lord appeared to Joseph in a dream. “Get up,” he said, “take the child and his mother and escape to Egypt. Stay there until I tell you, for Herod is going to search for the child to kill him.”  So he got up, took the child and his mother during the night and left for Egypt,  where he stayed until the death of Herod.

After Herod died, an angel of the Lord appeared in a dream to Joseph in Egypt and said, “Get up, take the child and his mother and go to the land of Israel, for those who were trying to take the child’s life are dead.”  So he got up, took the child and his mother and went to the land of Israel.

Observation

 An angel appeared to Joseph in several dreams and told him what to do.  Joseph, being obedient to the angel and recognizing its’ authority and power as the voice of the Lord, did not ask questions, but rather followed his dreams and did as he was told.

Application

I believe that one of the ways that the Lord can speak to us is through dreams.  These dreams are not only the kind that come while we sleep, but they also can come as we are wide awake.  Think about it…some of us may have crazy dreams while we sleep.  Take for instance a dream that I had last night–I was in a bookstore much like Borders or Berean and I was at the register about to purchase two books.  I decided on purchasing one book and as I was greeting the person at the register I saw a book on the display shelf behind her that was a purpleish-blue color.  I asked the lady if I could see the book and when I looked at the author of the book it was me.  What does this dream mean?  I have no clue, but I do know this, something has been stirring within me to write a book long before this dream ever popped into my head.  What will I write about?  I don’t know…there are millions of things that I want to write about and say but don’t have the faintest idea of where to start…nonetheless I must start…I consider my dream confirmation for that which was already within me. 

follow-your-dreams.jpg

Some people have dreams of and for their future (in regards to dreams and goals).  Some people dream of being firefighters, some people dream of being preachers.  Whatever the dream, I believe that it is within you for a reason.  There are some dreams that may be passing, but then there are others that you have a conviction about–something that you know that you know that you know you will do.  These are the dreams that the Lord gives us so that we have a drive and passion to complete His will that He has for us within our lives.  If you really think about it, these are the dreams that no one can tell you aren’t real.  These are the dreams that you will pursue despite all opposition coming against you and despite no one standing with you.  These are the dreams that you will allow no man to crush.

Dreams are very important to me.  I find many times that people overlook their dreams and cast them off as childish ambition which in turn allows them to be crushed by adult realism.  There is nothing wrong with realism unless it gives no place for the Lord to work.  2+2=4…yes…that is a fact and that’s as real as it gets…but what about my dream of writing a book?  Fact:  I am not the greatest at articulating my thoughts and sometimes I am very scatter brained because I have a lot to say.  Fact:  I get discouraged when I think about all of the other authors and people that are way better writers and are more educated than myself.  Fact:  I dream big and sometimes people tell me that I dream too big…but does that stop me?  NO!  I have purposed to allow the Lord, my God, to move in my life whichever way He wants and desires.  I am not above thinking and knowing that my God can do all things in and through me.  He has given me big and crazy dreams for a reason.  I have asked the Lord to reveal to me the meaning of my dreams as I sleep and to help me walk in and fulfill the dreams that I have for my future.  Somehow, I think that these two types of dreams are connected.  😉

Prayer

Lord please help to continue to trust and wait while You work in my life.  I know that I can get impatient many times and as a result I get really whiny and irritated as how slow things are moving.  Please continue to remind me that I will not die with unfulfilled dreams and also remind me that I am not just a carrier and dreamer of dreams, but that I am a doer also.  Thank you for being so faithful to me–it allows me to dream bigger that I ever thought I could dream and allows me to dream even what some people would call ‘impossible dreams.’  Again, I am still at a loss for words and wish I knew a better way to say thank you.  But, thank you anyways!  You’re amazing.  YEAH!!

~ by visionaryvanguard on Monday, 2007 November 19.

Leave a Reply

 
