do good, O LORD…

27 Nov 2007 Scripture:  Psalm 125:1-4 

Those who trust in the LORD are like Mount Zion, which cannot be shaken but endures forever.  As the mountains surround Jerusalem, so the LORD surrounds his people both now and forevermore.The scepter of the wicked will not remain over the land allotted to the righteous, for then the righteous might use their hands to do evil.  Do good, O LORD, to those who are good, to those who are upright in heart.

Observation

King David, like so many times prior to this Psalm, reiterates the statement that those who trust in the Lord are secure, safe, and endure forever.  He says that just as the mountains are everlasting and high on all sides of Jerusalem (keeping is safe from harm), so the Lord is also around his people, both now and forevermore. 

In verses 3-4, though, David says something that is both truthful, liberating and freeing.  David says that although it may seem like the wicked have control over valuable land–land that naturally belongs to God’s people–they will not have control over it for forever and their presence will not remain over it for forever.  David says that the land is allotted and set aside for the righteous.

Application

If there was ever a day where I need the Lord to speak, it was today…even this morning.  For anyone who knows me, they know that I have a strong desire to own property and land in the Bay Area–particularly in San Jose.  All of my friends know that I speak and declare in faith that I will own multimillion parcels of property and be an excellent steward over them, blessing others as I am blessed. 

apartment-complexes.jpg

Lately, I have been feeling like my faith is just too big…too lofty…too unrealistic.  You see, I want to do all of these things, I want to bless so many people, I want to be out of debt and help others get out of debt while living and working in San Jose, but I don’t know how it is going to happen.  I have educated myself in regards to Real Estate, Finance, Property Management, Multi-Unit Housing, etc., but it seems like all I am doing is educating myself.  I want the opportunity to do and to put my knowledge into action, but I haven’t the slightest clue as to how…at least without any money.  I know that my God has all of the money in the world…shoot…He owns the cattle on a thousand hills…but how is it that I cannot tap into the Kingdom resources that are 100% available to me so that I can own these properties…the ones that I have in a binder that keep me motivated. 

I can’t lie to you and say that this is an easy time in my life.  I have grown weary.  I have grown weary of waiting for something to happen.  I question whether or not I should be doing something different or even if I have heard the Lord at all pertaining to this matter.  I look around at tons of people who own property and are not taking care of both the property and the tenants that reside on that property.  I look around at people that are in the Real Estate game to make a quick buck and take advantage of the next person and think about how I could do that but make the decision each and every day not to–resisting the enemy and from doing evil to get my own way and desires.  I, like David, need to be encouraged that the wicked will not retain control over the land allotted for the righteous for forever.  David asks the Lord to do good to those who are good and to those who are upright in heart–this is the request that I, too, have of the Lord my God.

Prayer

Lord, today my prayer is simple:  Do good, O LORD, to those who are good, to those who are upright in heart.  I am your child, a joint heir to the throne, and I am asking that you show me and teach me the right way to rule that which you have placed me as a steward over.  My only desire is to do that which You have placed within me to do, to do Your will here on earth as it is in heaven, to please You and to make You proud.  Help me to be patient and please renew strength, hope, faith and belief within me…I really need it now.  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Tuesday, 2007 November 27.

Leave a Reply

 
