patience is not a gift, it’s a fruit…

12 Dec 2007 Scripture:  Hebrews 6:13-15

When God made his promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for him to swear by, he swore by himself, saying, “I will surely bless you and give you many descendants.”  And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.

Observation

The Lord made a promise to Abraham and swore on Himself because He was and is incapable of lying.  The promise did not come immediately, but Abraham waited patiently for it and then eventually received that which was promised to him.

Application

I can’t be the only person that has received a promise from God and then questioned at some point if He forgot about what He said.  If I am going to be totally honest here, I would say that I am trying to be like Abraham–patient–but am finding it very hard to wait.  Perhaps my lack of patience is due to the fact that everything comes and moves at such a fast pace nowadays, or perhaps it’s because my lack of seeing the promises of God come to pass in my life in a way in which I expect makes me impatient.  Whatever the reasons, I am working on bearing the fruit of the Spirit in my life–I am working on growing my patience and knowing that God has not forgotten me and the words of comfort, hope and promise that He has said.

Prayer

hourglass.jpg

Lord, please help me to be more patient in waiting for You.  You know that I do not only look to you as a provider of the promises, but I first and foremost look to You as my God, Father, companion on my journey, best friend who is always there, protector from all harm and so many other things.  Sometimes I can just focus on Your promises that You have said, and for that, I am sorry.  Thank You for never changing and for always remaining that one constant in my life.  I give You all of me, and I give You all of my love forever.  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Wednesday, 2007 December 12.

One Response to “patience is not a gift, it’s a fruit…”

  1. this sounds so familiar… where have i heard this before??? hahah! LOVE YOU FRIEND!!

Leave a Reply

 
