keep a look out…

7 Jan 2008 Scripture:  Genesis 18:1-5

waiting.jpg

The LORD appeared to Abraham near the great trees of Mamre while he was sitting at the entrance to his tent in the heat of the day.  Abraham looked up and saw three men standing nearby.  When he saw them, he hurried from the entrance of his tent to meet them and bowed low to the ground.  He said, “If I have found favor in your eyes, my lord, do not pass your servant by.  Let a little water be brought, and then you may all wash your feet and rest under this tree.  Let me get you something to eat, so you can be refreshed and then go on your way—now that you have come to your servant.” 
“Very well,” they answered, “do as you say.”

Observation

Abraham sat at the entrance of his tent even in the heat of the day as he kept a eye out for his coming blessing.  Abraham knew that he had found favor with the Lord and he knew that something was going to come his way and finally change his life forever.  Things were going well for Abraham and he was blessed and yet there was one thing lacking that I am sure, no doubt, that left a hole within him–he wanted an heir, he wanted a son to carry on his name. 

When Abraham saw the three men coming he perceived that it was the Lord coming his way and he made sure to make room for them within his came and particularly within his tent.  Abraham showed these men the utmost hospitality and gave them his best that he could offer. 

I see in this passage that Abraham knows how to give his best and is always prepared to give his best.  Although Abraham gave a tithe of all that he had to Melchizedek, giving and offering this way was not the only way that Abraham knew how to give and offer.  I believe that Abraham knew that with the measure that he served and gave, he knew that it would be returned back to him in like manner and fashion.  Abraham met the needs of these men by giving them drink and food, shelter and a chance to clean their feet from their long journey…and rightfully so Abraham sought to find favor in their eyes that he may be blessed–for it was all he knew how to do.  He sowed serventhood and faith and in return he received the promise of his ultimate blessing.

Application

I have to always keep a look out for the blessing of the Lord as it is most definitely coming my way.  I want to be prepared when the blessing arrives and I want to be able to have room to receive it.  There is nothing that I can do to make the blessing come my way and pass by my home, I just have to always be willing and ready with my eyes set on the horizon, willing to run out and meet my blessing head on when I see it.

In the meantime I will continue to serve and sow seed into my future.  If there is but one thing I know, it is that not sowing is not an option for me.  I give knowing that one day I will receive in return–in like fashion or not–I will reap from that which I have sown.

Prayer

Lord, thank You for heading in my direction and for always thinking of me.  I thank You for always meeting me exactly where I am and for meeting every one of my needs.  You are amazing and I wish I had another word to describe You.  I love You a lot and not all of my words can express it…but I know You know what I mean 😉 .  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Monday, 2008 January 7.

Leave a Reply

 
