taking chances, giving freedom…

16 June 2008 Scripture: Acts 9:26-28

When he came to Jerusalem, he tried to join the disciples, but they were all afraid of him, not believing that he really was a disciple.  But Barnabas took him and brought him to the apostles. He told them how Saul on his journey had seen the Lord and that the Lord had spoken to him, and how in Damascus he had preached fearlessly in the name of Jesus.  So Saul stayed with them and moved about freely…

Observation

Paul is a new convert to Christianity.  The fact that Paul is a new convert is a feat in itself.  He went from being a persecuter of the church, someone who would beat, enprison and hunt for Christians, to someone who was completely changed by God…a 180 flip.  We see in this scripture that Paul is traveling and looking for fellow Christians but no one wants to befriend him or give him a chance.  Barnabus takes a chance, to the point of risking his life (in his eyes) to vouch for the validity of Paul and the word that the Lord has put in his mouth and brings him before the other disciples.  These disciples, with the heart of their Lord, Jesus  give Paul the benefit of the doubt and mentored him.  Paul was not looked at as a baby Christian, but as someone who’s fruit (the strong word of the Lord in his mouth) enabled him to be amongst the greatest of men.  They did not keep him from preaching because he was not a Christian for his entire life, but they gave him freedom…

Application

I am guilty of judging people like the Christians who would not believe nor have anything to do with Paul.  But I also have been on the side where I have befriended people who were once considered my enemy.

Right now in my life I am in a place where I am allowing the Lord to renew my mind and give me more grace and mercy to turn and actually approach an old and former friend of mine.  I was hurt very bad by her and although I thought I completely released the situation to the Lord, I obviously have not.

Prayer

Lord, help me to forgive and forget like Jesus.  Help me to get out of my comfort zone and please help me find the courage to approach my old friend so that our once friendship can be reconciled.  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Saturday, 2008 October 18.

Leave a Reply

 
