always watching, always listening, always concerned…

22 Jan 2008 Scripture:  Exodus 3:7-8 & 31

The LORD said, “I have indeed seen the misery of my people in Egypt. I have heard them crying out because of their slave drivers, and I am concerned about their suffering.  So I have come down to rescue them from the hand of the Egyptians and to bring them up out of that land into a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey”  …And when they heard that the LORD was concerned about them and had seen their misery, they bowed down and worshiped.

shepherd-and-flock-3.gif

Observation

The children of Israel had been in bondage to their slave-masters for several generations and in the midst of their misery and suffering the LORD their God heard them crying out to Him for help. 

Application

These scriptures really don’t need much more explanation that what is highlighted in the red lettering.  This scripture reminds me that the LORD, my God, is always watching, always listening, and is always concerned about my present situation.  Although at times I wonder where God is in my situation and whether or not He has completely forgotten me, I am reminded that He is always wanting better for me. 

To be quite honest, as of lately I have been crying out to God more than usual about my life.  After this past weekend (my birthday weekend), I was reminded time and time again by several people that the Lord is concerned with me and wants to rescue me and bring me up and out of my present situation into a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey…into abundance and eternal blessing. 

The most important thing about the scriptures above is that when the Israelites heard that the LORD was concerned about them and had seen everything, they bowed down and worshiped Him.  I too worshiped the Lord when He responded to my cries.  I could do nothing else but worship Him because I was reminded that He cares for me, wants to rescue me, and wants to bring me into a new place that is flowing with milk and honey…into a place of eternal blessing and abundance.

Prayer

Lord, thank You for listening to me and for letting me know that You are listening to me and that You know exactly the situation that I am in.  Thank You for always watching me, for always listening to me and for always being concerned about me.  I was feeling helpless for awhile there, but You reminded me that I have never been abandoned and that You will rescue me and bring me into a new place.  I worship You because that is the only thing that I know how to do to let You know how appreciative I am and how much I love You.  Amen.

~ by visionaryvanguard on Tuesday, 2008 January 22.

Leave a comment